Principles

My Principles

To understand what my beliefs are, I must first understand what informs my beliefs. To do this I must define what my principles are

Principles vs Beliefs

When starting this section I first though principles were simply firmly held beliefs. Though looking further into it I have found that I was wrong. Where I belief a is

Belief: Concepts or ideas that one accepts as true in order to understand and/or impose will on the world.

Myself

I found the definition to be following

Principle: a fundamental truth or proposition that serves as the foundation for a system of belief or behavior or for a chain of reasoning.

Google

or as I would describe as: ‘Principle – The foundation which informs the formation of belief. A belief that is fundamental to ones identity.’

To identify and put into words every belief is an impossible task. some principles are so engrained I don’t believe I will understand how impactful it is to me. With that said, I will try to articulate the more shallow and identifiable principles I have:

My Principles

  • Every conscious action is made because the actor believes it is the right action.
  • Free will is an illusion, but because the future is unknown, I choose to believe in free will
  • If things (the present) could be different, they would be.
  • This existence is the only one I expect to know
  • Do not do unto others as you would have them not do unto you
  • If I wish to help, I must first make sure my help is better than inaction.
  • My identity is determined by both environment and genetics.
  • Selfish actions are okay, but I must understand helping others is the most efficient way to help myself

These principles are broad statements that each deserve pages of further definition and articulation. I upon further analysis I believe that I may find these statements are better defined as beliefs, not principles.

Thank you for reading.

Ben.

 

Leave a Reply

